Skinthesis Grand Opening

Skinthesis Grand Opening skinsss_005 skinsss_006

Yesterday, I received some sample skins from a new skin store called Skinthesis by Can Sutter. “Skinthesis is is a hot new skin and shape store that specializes in hybrid hand-painted, photosourced skins to cover every fashionista’s wardrobe need! We’re so excited to launch our first line of female skins – Mindi – in 6 beautiful tones that range in shades from vampire to Africa Amercan,  and a variety of makeups!” I took a look at the Mindi line, and they really come with a variety of interesting and fun make-up choices. So I put them on in my usual skin demo-ing attire, underwear, and went to town inspecting them from head to toe.

From left to right I’m wearing: Tan – Moderne, Dark – Berry Me and Pale – Vixen.

Dark is the darkest tone, Tan is somewhere in the middle and Pale is the second lightest. The very lightest could be described as “vampire white”. It was too close to the background white.

Moving from the face to the torsoe I noticed some strange shading, so off came the bra to get a better look. I covered up a little in editing for modesty’s sake.

Skinthesis Grand Opening

You can see that there is very heavy shading under the breasts, way too heavy for my tastes, but my breasts are generally covered and I barely noticed it with my top on. Under the breasts there was another issue for me, the ribcage being highlighted in such a way. It jumps out at you even more with the darker skins. I also feel the collar bone is a little dark but is something I can live with.

I’ll put the full-body pics in thumbnails so you can take a look at everything if you wish. I think there’s a bit of a seam issue or something on the back – not sure about what is going on there since I don’t make skins myself.

Skinthesis Grand Opening Skinthesis Grand Opening

I think, overall, it is a solid effort for a first line of skins. It’s not easy to do at all. Skinthesis also offers a number of female shapes, but I like to see how a skin looks on the shape I wear everyday – perhaps with a slight modification for the mouth. Good news, I didn’t have to change my shape at all to like the way the face looked on me.

Price breakdown is as follows:

Demos = Free
Shapes = 399L
Skin Singles = 999L
6-pack = 1600L
8-pk (mix & match orders) = 2000L
15-pack = 3000L

Also for the grand opening, Skinthesis is offering a special Valentines skin in the lucky chair, all 6 tones of skins will be in there, so you might win yourself the whole lot! They will only be available until February 21, 2009. Also currently in store is an 80’s inspried line called “Totally 80’s” with very pink make-up, it reminds me of the 80’s cartoon character “Jem” whom I love.

I suppose what I’m saying here is, as like with any product there are positives and negatives. An avatar who is fully dressed majority of the time would not even notice the things I did. The makeup offeres great variety and is reason enough to try the demo yourself. However this is a first line and there is definitely room for improvement. I think a lighter hand with the highlighting and shading would really benefit this skin and help propell it into competing with the biggest names.

Leave a Reply

