Tea With Myself

In this post I am showing all my lovely readers some of the new items available at the Back to Black Event presented by CHIC Management, which opens tomorrow (February 11, 2012). The event is intended to raise awareness about various mental health issues, and displays products from various designers in several themes, ie: Hope, Friendship, etc. Many people involved in the event; from designers to organizers, and bloggers as well, have revealed that they have a special connection to the issue of mental health – either suffering from some illness themselves, or loving someone who does. This isn’t a charity event, but a place for people to gather, shop and educate themselves about an issue that still carries a stigma.

I didn’t know exactly where to start with telling a story about the real person behind the avatar, but in real life I have suffered with eating disorders, depression and most recently: debilitating anxiety and panic attacks. I did the things my doctors told me, and I did things my own way. Then something happened nearly 2 years ago: a switch in my head went off and things started to look different to me. The fog of despair began to lift and I was able to become a more positive person. I am still on medication for my anxiety, I honestly feel like this is a result of years of abuse I did to my body resulting in a real change to my brain chemistry. Most days though, I am okay. I am better than okay a lot of them, and some years ago I thought that I would never be able to say that.

Lately, I’ve been having conversations with myself, instead of the negative things I used to tell myself, I’ve been telling myself how incredibly lucky I am to be where I am. A lot of people never feel emotionally “well”. I know many of them, and I thought I was destined to be one. I have felt like getting through each day was like being dragged through the worst pits of hell, and now I feel blessed to be alive. I guess my post isn’t about surviving, or about having membership to this “club” of people who have suffered with mental illness, but to say, there is hope. Talk to everyone you can about how you feel, don’t isolate yourself, and don’t be ashamed. You’re not weak, you are human – and the best thing about being alive is that tomorrow can bring something totally new.

Credits:

Hair: LoQ Hair, Bourbon – Platinum (Back to Black Event item)
Skin: Curio, Shell Frex [Dark] Jasmine-Golden Rabbit 2
Eyes: LeLutka, Ellis- Cocoa
Prim lashes: LeLutka, 2011 lashes/curl
Lash tattoo: Iris’ Eyelash Tattoo
Earrings: je suis…, chic SILVER earrings
Scarf and bodysuit: Nemesis – Friendship bodysuit white (Back to Black Event item)
Boots: Bax Coen Designs, BAX Prestige Boots White Latex
Shape: My own.
Table with tea set: Baffle!, [Teatime.] Waxed (Back to Black Event item)

Leave a Reply

